How D'Youville's HRSA Grant Shows Nurse Educators What to Fund

A practical look at allocating multi-year grant dollars to faculty, simulation, and students

By Amy Kowalska, MSN, RNReviewed by Editorial TeamUpdated October 1, 202615 min read
Nursing Education Grant Funding: D’Youville HRSA Model

What you’ll learn in this article…

  • D'Youville's $3 million HRSA grant runs from 2026 through 2030.
  • Its nurse practitioner enrollment more than doubled in four years.
  • The grant funds simulation technology, equipment, personnel, and student support.

What does a $3 million HRSA nursing education grant actually buy in nursing faculty development, simulation technology, and student support? D'Youville University received that exact award, running Sept. 1, 2026 through Aug. 31, 2030, according to WIVB's September 2026 report. For nurse educators, the grant is a working allocation case study: the budget model, grant types, proposal tactics, faculty release strategies, and student eligibility decisions that follow make the award transferable. Programs competing for the same HRSA dollars can read the award as a benchmark for tying multi-year funding to nursing program sustainability and clinical readiness.

What the D'youville Nursing Grant Covers (And What Isn't Public Yet)

The tension for nurse educators reading this award is simple: a $3 million headline only matters if you can see what it buys. According to WIVB's Buffalo report published on Sept. 29, 2026, D'Youville University received the $3 million federal grant through the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), one of the most visible nursing education grant funding sources. The grant period began Sept. 1, 2026 and runs through Aug. 31, 2030.

The D'Youville nursing grant is used for technology, equipment, personnel, and student support, with the dean prioritizing additional simulation and community engagement learning opportunities.

What the Award Covers

WIVB reports the funds will support investments in technology, equipment, personnel and student support. Dean Shannon McCrory-Churchill said the funding will provide students additional simulation and community engagement learning opportunities, an area closely tied to Nursing Simulation Lab Funding. For nurse educators, that means the award is not a single line item. It is a multi-year capacity investment tied to clinical readiness.

What Is Not Yet Public

Program leaders should not conflate this $3 million award with an earlier HRSA award reported at nearly $3.96 million.2 They are separate federal awards, and the 2026 announcement has not yet published a detailed budget. HRSA's public grant records for fiscal year 2026 are still preliminary.1 As of early October 2026, the exact budget split, the specific HRSA program name or grant number, and whether any portion goes to direct student awards have not been confirmed. Treat the broad categories as directional, not as a line-item allocation.

A Model Budget Framework for a Multi-Year Nursing Education Grant

This table is an illustrative planning model, not D'Youville's actual grant budget. It draws on HRSA nursing workforce guidance to show how a multi-year award might allocate funds across personnel, simulation technology, equipment, student support, and community engagement, with a caution on front-loading equipment versus sustaining personnel across four years.

Budget CategoryWhat It Typically FundsAllowability and Cost-Rule NotesLink to D'Youville's Stated Priorities
Personnel and faculty effortFaculty time, project direction, simulation educators, and workload buy-down or release timeCharged at actual level of effort, necessary and reasonable, supported by payroll and internal controls under 2 CFR Part 200; proposed effort must be justifiedAligns with D'Youville's stated investment in nurse educators to support expanded NP enrollment
High-fidelity simulation technologySimulation-based technology and equipment to build nursing students' readiness to practiceAllowable in support of project simulation activities; must be reasonable and purchased at the best comparative priceDirectly supports D'Youville's stated priority of high-fidelity technology and expanded simulation training
EquipmentEquipment supporting project simulation activities, including related minor alteration and renovationNo cap under cited HRSA simulation program; reasonable cost and best comparative price requiredSupports D'Youville's equipment priority for simulation expansion
Student supportStandardized-patient support is allowable; broader forms of student aid are not confirmed as allowable in the available HRSA guidanceStandardized-patient support confirmed; no allocation percentage provided; not all student aid is automatically allowableSupports D'Youville's student support priority through simulated clinical learning
Community engagement or partnershipsNot specified as a separate budget category in available HRSA simulation guidanceNo source states a specific allowability note for community engagement partnershipsAligns with D'Youville's stated goal of community engagement learning opportunities
Indirect costsFacilities operation and maintenance, depreciation, and administrative expensesRequire established or negotiated indirect cost rate; the same cost cannot be charged as both direct and indirectNot explicitly linked to D'Youville's published priorities in the source
Minor alteration and renovationSpace modification to accommodate equipment and make space suitable for the proposed projectUp to $20,000 may be requested for minor A&R; structural changes to a facility are not allowedSupports equipment and simulation space needs at D'Youville, though specific A&R is not stated
Funding is only useful if it turns into seats, faculty and clinical hours.

How Simulation and Educator Investment Scaled D'youville's NP Enrollment

D'Youville's nurse practitioner enrollment doubled because the university directed capacity-building dollars into simulation and faculty.

The enrollment signal

According to WIVB reporting in September 2026, D'Youville's nurse practitioner programs more than doubled in size over four years. President Lorrie Clemo attributed that growth to investment in high-fidelity technology, nurse educators, and expanded simulation training. Dean Shannon McCrory-Churchill added that the funding will provide additional simulation and community engagement learning opportunities.

Why simulation and faculty expand capacity

Innovative teaching strategies in nursing education such as simulation relieve clinical-placement bottlenecks by giving students structured, repeatable practice without consuming scarce preceptor sites. Nurse educators raise the nursing school capacity ceiling by allowing more cohorts to run at once. National guidance supports this direction, with important caveats. NCSBN endorses substituting high-quality simulation for up to 50% of traditional prelicensure clinical hours in some circumstances, but this is not a blanket rule.1 Programs should weigh required clinical hours, pass rates, clinical-site availability, faculty turnover, student complaints, and retention2. NCSBN's simulation study considered programs with at least 600 required clinical hours; outcomes below that threshold are not evidenced.2 AACN allows simulation for some clinical learning but still requires direct-care competency demonstration3 and does not specify a simulation percentage for APRN education.4

Metrics to track capacity gains

  • Enrollment: Compare NP headcount before and after simulation and faculty expansion.
  • Simulation hours per student: Track structured simulation hours each cohort receives.
  • Placement fill rate: Measure the share of required clinical placements filled within target windows.

Tracking these three numbers helps program directors connect grant spending to observable capacity gains instead of relying on anecdote.

Grants for Nurse Educators and Programs: HRSA, DOL, NCSBN, AACN and Foundations

Yes, grants for nurse educators and nursing education programs exist, though most federal awards go to institutions and partnerships rather than individual nurses. HRSA funds nursing education primarily through competitive institutional awards under Title VIII programs. The table below summarizes confirmed programs, with cycle information flagged where available.

ProgramFunderWho Can ApplyTypical Award or FocusCycle or Deadline Notes
Nurse Faculty Loan Program (NFLP)Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Bureau of Health WorkforceAccredited schools of nursing; affiliated domestic schools must be accredited throughout the award period; Tribes and tribal organizations may be eligible if they own and operate an accredited school of nursingIncreases the number of qualified nurse faculty nationwide and reduces financial barriers through loan cancellation2026 application period: June 8, 2026 through July 10, 2026; listed as closed
Nursing Education, Practice, Quality, and Retention programsHealth Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)Organizations; HRSA states that its grants supporting nurses and nursing programs are for organizations, not individualsPrograms directly aimed at supporting nurses and nursing programs, including nursing education, practice, quality, and retentionNot specified
Nursing Expansion Grant ProgramU.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training AdministrationPublic-private partnerships; the 2023 competition awarded grants to 25 such partnerships in specified statesThe 2023 competition awarded $78M across 25 public-private partnerships to expand and diversify the qualified nursing workforce, including increasing nursing instructors and educators2023 competition completed; current cycle not confirmed
AACN Faculty Scholars Grant ProgramFoundation for Academic Nursing, the philanthropic arm of AACNNurse faculty-led project applicantsTwo $25,000 grants, totaling $50,000, for pilot studies measuring student outcomes using emerging technologies in nursing education; projects run through 20272026 applications were due August 7, 2026 at 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time
Graduate Nursing Student Academy (GNSA) grantFoundation for Academic Nursing / AACNPhD and DNP students$2,000 grant to support innovative collaborations among PhD and DNP studentsNot specified

How to Write a Nursing Education Grant Proposal Reviewers Will Fund

D'Youville's nurse practitioner programs more than doubled in four years, and the university's $3 million HRSA request anchored that growth to high-fidelity simulation, nurse educators, and nursing student support strategies. Reviewers rarely fund a general wish list; they fund a proposal that reads like an operations plan.

Lead with a measured need

Start the needs statement with data, not adjectives. Quantify current cohort size, clinical placement gaps, simulation capacity per student, faculty-to-student ratios, and regional demand for nurse practitioners or educators. Show the gap between seats and qualified applicants in your nursing student pipeline programs, or the number of students unable to access pediatric and community placements. D'Youville tied its request to actual enrollment growth, making the requested technology and personnel feel like bottleneck removal rather than expansion for its own sake.

Build the budget justification in reverse

Every line item should connect to an activity and a measurable output. For simulation spending, state the calculation using simulation lab space planning: additional high-fidelity suites or manikins support a defined number of additional simulation hours per student per semester, which supports a specified increase in student capacity. Requested nurse educator funding should map to lower faculty-to-student ratios or added clinical coordination time. If equipment does not change a measurable outcome, remove it.

Commit to metrics and a post-2030 plan

Name the outcomes reviewers will score: simulation hours completed, NP graduates per year, active clinical partner sites, and community engagement encounters. Set annual targets. Then state what happens after Aug. 31, 2030. D'Youville's structure implies the university will absorb ongoing personnel costs, equipment maintenance, and expanded partnerships. Write that commitment explicitly, naming the tuition or budget line that will carry those costs. Finally, open the funding notice's review criteria and mirror those headings in your proposal, so reviewers never have to hunt for evidence.

Protecting Faculty Release Time and Building Grant-Writing Support

Personnel effort is the budget line that usually determines whether a nursing education grant builds lasting teaching capacity for nursing program development or simply adds another unfunded obligation. Protect it early by writing release time into the budget as a documented percentage of effort and securing the dean's approval before submission.

Budget release time as a percentage of effort

There is no fixed national standard. One university policy uses a course-reduction ladder: 25% to under 50% effort equals one course release, 50% to under 75% equals two, and 75% to under 100% equals three. Effort up to about 10% may be handled without a formal course reduction depending on local policy.1 Document the proposed percentage and a coverage plan before routing the budget.

Get sign-off and track effort

Write release time into the budget as direct salary and fringe when the sponsor allows it. Then obtain chair, dean, and sponsored programs approval before submission.6 After award, keep effort reporting aligned with the percentage you proposed and the teaching reduction you actually received.

Match the support model to your program

Larger schools often rely on an in-house sponsored programs office. Smaller nursing programs may use shared services across a college or an external consultant, but consultant services are allowable only if the sponsor permits them.5 HRSA's Advanced Nursing Education Workforce and Nurse Practitioner Residency FAQs do not allow paid release time even when salary support for effort is allowed, so verify each grant.23 With grant-writing support available at only about half of nursing schools4, faculty-led release time remains the most reliable lever for nurse faculty retention.

Institutional grants only help students when the money reaches them as seats, simulation time and support.

Who Is Eligible for D'youville Nursing Grant Support?

The 2026 HRSA Nursing Workforce Development grant opened June 5, 2026 and closed July 8, 2026, with awards made to institutions rather than individual students.1 D'Youville's $3 million award is a school-level grant, and public reporting says the funds will support technology, equipment, personnel and student support.2 That wording points to program-level student support, not nursing school scholarships and grants or cash awards that students apply for individually.

What D'Youville Has Published

As of October 2026, D'Youville has not published a student eligibility page, scholarship list, or direct award application tied to this HRSA grant. The university's public materials also do not confirm whether earlier HRSA-funded student scholarships remain active, paused, or ended. D'Youville has a documented HRSA funding history through the Nurse Education, Practice, Quality and Retention Transition to Practice Program, but that does not by itself establish current student aid tied to the 2026 award.

Related HRSA Programs That Are Also Institution-Level

The HRSA Scholarships for Disadvantaged Students program funds schools, not students directly.3 The 2026 Nurse Faculty Loan Program opportunity, open June 8 to July 10, 2026, is likewise an institutional award for accredited schools of nursing that support faculty development and loan repayment tied to nursing faculty shortage solutions, not a student application.4

Where to Verify Eligibility

Students and faculty should confirm current eligibility and any scholarship or support pathways through the D'Youville School of Nursing, the university financial aid office, and the HRSA program page for the Nursing Workforce Development grant.

Your Next Steps as a Nurse Educator or Program Director

Start by treating the D'Youville award as a working template, not a special case. Audit your current funding gaps against the same three buckets: simulation technology, faculty personnel, and student support. Then run this five-item grant-readiness checklist.

  • Audit: List where enrollment capacity, clinical placements, or simulation hours break first.
  • Budget map: Pull the model categories above into your own program cost table.
  • Funders: Identify one federal option such as HRSA and one private foundation fit.
  • Release time: Secure written release-time commitments before drafting begins.
  • Needs statement: Draft a one-page statement linking your gaps to NP pipeline demand.

After the checklist, monitor HRSA and DOL notices, including the DOL Nursing Expansion Grant Program, for open competitions as part of your nurse educator advocacy. Watch D'Youville's own updates for the budget and eligibility details not yet public. Do not wait for perfect data: a one-page needs statement that begins aligning nursing education with health system needs and a faculty release-time memo can move forward now. Book a 30-minute faculty meeting to assign each checklist item.

When you are ready to go deeper, review the related faculty, doctoral-pathway, and workforce articles on nurseeducator.com.

Recent News

Recent Articles

Share This:
LinkedIn
Reddit

Follow us