How Misericordia University Is Rebuilding Its Nursing Pipeline

Inside the pathway shifts, partnerships, and staffing choices other nursing programs can learn from

By Jillian Lohman, DNP, MSN, RNReviewed by Editorial TeamUpdated September 11, 20268 min read
Misericordia’s Nursing Pathway Expansion: A Model to Study

What you’ll learn in this article…

  • Misericordia stopped admitting legacy RN-to-BSN students after Fall 2022.
  • Current pathways include ABSN, part-time BSN, accelerated options, and online delivery.
  • The expansion targets Pennsylvania's RN shortage through new workforce-development partnerships.

Nursing schools are no longer asking whether to expand enrollment; they are deciding which pathways to keep, which to retire, and how to staff them.

Misericordia University is a useful case study. Its RN to BSN track stopped admitting after Fall 2022, leaving accelerated and part-time BSN routes to carry the enrollment strategy. Tuition is not uniformly published across those routes, so cost comparisons require direct confirmation. For nurse educators, the pressure point is whether online and accelerated delivery can scale without squeezing clinical placements or worsening nursing faculty shortages.

Why Misericordia Overhauled Its Nursing Pathways

Pennsylvania's registered nurse shortage is not a distant projection; it is a current staffing emergency, and Misericordia University's pathway expansion is a direct operational response to those numbers.

The Data Behind the Decision

The most recent statewide hospital workforce data reports a 19 percent average registered nurse vacancy rate, with nursing support professional vacancies at 17 percent. Hospital direct-care vacancy rates ranged from 12 percent to 30 percent across facilities, underscoring how uneven the pressure is. State and hospital association estimates project a shortfall of more than 20,000 nurses by 2026, and workforce models point to roughly 9,000 RN openings per year. Pennsylvania is also projected to face the nation's worst nursing shortage by 2026, which makes the shortage a structural problem rather than a temporary hiring dip.

Misericordia's Response

Misericordia's news release announcing the expansion directly frames the new pathways as an answer to Pennsylvania's nursing workforce shortage, not as a routine enrollment initiative. The nursing programs driving that response sit within the College of Health Sciences and Education (CHSE), which gives the expansion an integrated health sciences foundation. The university does not treat the shortage as abstract background; it positions expanded pathways as the core strategy for building a stronger nursing workforce pipeline.

Why the Mechanics Matter

For nurse educators, the practical question is not whether the rationale is sound, but what the institution changed operationally. The sections that follow examine accelerated options, online delivery, and the Center for Workforce Development and Talent Solutions, and how those changes affect nursing curriculum development, clinical placement capacity, faculty workload, and admissions workflows. That shift from headline to workflow continues through the remaining sections.

What Happened to RN to BSN at Misericordia?

Dedicated RN-to-BSN completion versus general BSN or graduate entry: Misericordia's current catalogs draw a firm line between them. As of 2026, there is no dedicated RN-to-BSN option for RNs building a nurse educator career path. The legacy RN-to-BSN pathway stopped admitting new students after the Fall 2022 term, and multiple catalog pages repeat "no longer accepting applicants," including the former ARCH track page.

What the old track required

The historical RN-to-BSN was a completion option for licensed RNs with an accredited associate degree or diploma. It allowed advanced placement of 32 credits and required 22 professional nursing major credits, including a community health clinical. Admission needed a cumulative GPA of at least 2.75 and documented clinical practice, typically 1,000 hours within three years. That clinical requirement could be waived for graduates of a basic nursing program within the prior three years.

Why outdated pages create confusion

Search results and cached pages often still surface the old program. Misericordia's 2026 and 2026-2027 catalog keeps the closure language beside the BSN description, but no active RN-specific completion track has reopened. The accelerated BSN starting Spring 2027 is a pre-licensure second-degree route, not a replacement for licensed RNs seeking a BSN. That closure is not a temporary pause.

What current RN-holders should do

There is no dedicated RN-to-BSN application path in 2026. The part-time evening BSN is also an entry-level option, not an RN completion track. Current RNs should match their situation to the current general BSN, MSN, or DNP options, including advanced practice nursing education, and use the comparison table below to choose the active route that fits. Speak with an advisor about whether a general BSN transfer might apply, but do not use old RN-to-BSN portal pages.

RN to BSN Vs. ABSN Vs. Part-Time BSN: Comparing the Current Pathways

Misericordia's current nursing pathways give RNs and prospective students three distinct ways into a Bachelor of Science in Nursing. The RN to BSN track is the clearest successor for working RNs who would have used the older RN to BSN pathway, because it accepts transfer credit, advanced placement, and matriculation credit. As of September 2026, Misericordia's program pages do not label any of these routes as pre-launch, though the part-time BSN and RN to BSN descriptions leave campus location and application status unstated.

PathwayFormatCampus LocationTypical LengthTarget Student Profile
Accelerated BSN (ABSN)Hybrid with online lectures and in-person weekend labs and clinicalsDallas, Pennsylvania; a second accelerated option is located near Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania16 months; the Pittsburgh-area option requires 54 credit hours over four full-time semestersCareer changers, adults returning to school, and students with previous college credit who want to become an RN
Part-Time BSNClasses held primarily in the eveningsNot stated in the available program descriptionNot stated in the available program descriptionNot stated in the available program description
RN to BSN track (successor to the previous RN to BSN route)Credit earned through transfer, advanced placement, and matriculation; includes a clinical practice course in community health with a flexible adult learning model for schedulingNot stated in the available program descriptionVariable; not stated as a fixed term, but transfer and advanced placement credit can shorten the pathHighly motivated registered nurses; RNs who hold a bachelor's degree in another field are exempt from core requirements

Inside the Expansion: Accelerated Options, Online Delivery, and the Center for Workforce Development

The real tradeoff in Nursing School Expansion is not whether to add seats, but how to do so without eroding clinical quality or overloading faculty. Misericordia University's news release places its College of Health Sciences and Education (CHSE) at the center of nursing programs, while the university lists accelerated and online options among its admissions and aid offerings.

What accelerated and online delivery actually change

Within CHSE, accelerated options compress time to degree, and online delivery moves didactic content off campus. That forces faculty to redesign courses for asynchronous or hybrid teaching, advisors to map prior credits and prerequisites earlier, and clinical coordinators to sequence rotations for faster cohorts, a nurse educator workload management challenge. For working RNs, acceleration trades time for intensity: a shorter program with heavier weekly demands.

The workforce-development mechanism

Misericordia's Center for Workforce Development and Talent Solutions serves Northeastern Pennsylvania employers and lists Business Healthcare among its focus areas. Early partnerships include a customized "Spanish in the Workplace" session for manufacturer Wyman Gordon and a three-day leadership workshop for Federal Hearings and Appeals Services. These are employer-facing training engagements, not clinical placements. Still, they show how a university can use academic-clinical partnership models to build healthcare talent pipelines and, eventually, negotiate tuition-reimbursement or preceptor agreements.

What remains to be confirmed

Misericordia has not publicly named the specific health systems tied to CHSE accelerated nursing cohorts or clinical seat agreements. That gap matters for replication. Accelerated and online pathways scale only if clinical capacity and preceptor availability grow at the same pace, and the workforce center's healthcare focus suggests where those agreements may develop.

Misericordia University Expands Nursing Pathways as Pennsylvania Addresses Workforce Shortage.
Misericordia University

In 2025, U.S. nursing schools turned away 92,672 qualified applications, while the American Association of Colleges of Nursing reported a 7.2% faculty vacancy rate for 2025-2026. That gap between applicant demand and teaching capacity helps explain why expanding nursing pathways matters.

Admissions, Tuition, and Acceptance Rate Snapshot

Misericordia University publishes program-specific admission details for several nursing pathways, but tuition and acceptance rate data are not uniformly available. Prospective students should confirm current costs and acceptance rates directly with admissions, especially for the part-time BSN and RN to BSN options.

PathwayTuition/CostAcceptance RateKey Admission Requirements
ABSN$1,166 per creditNot publicly reportedAt least 60 college credits from an accredited college or university; minimum GPA of 2.75; all prerequisite courses completed with a grade of C or higher before starting the January nursing cohort; no disciplinary action in another nursing program; if currently licensed LPN, must complete the NLN exam before beginning nursing courses.
Part-time BSNNot stated in available sourcesNot publicly reportedThe program requires 120 credits for graduation, including 21 prerequisite credits and 54 nursing-major credits. GPA and standardized test requirements are not stated in the available sources.
RN to BSNNot stated in available sourcesNot publicly reportedGraduation from an accredited associate's degree or diploma nursing program; transcripts of all prior college-level coursework; copy of RN license; minimum cumulative GPA of 2.75; official written verification of 1,000 hours of clinical practice in the past three years (waived for graduates of basic nursing programs in the three years prior to application).

Recent News

Recent Articles

Share This:
LinkedIn
Reddit

Follow us